Chakra Checkups


Chakra Checkups (also known as body scanning) is an essential way to self assess what kind of Reiki you are needing at that moment. 

For my nurses and medical peeps- this is so similar to our head to toe assessment. However, it is just focused on our 7 spinning energy centers, our chakras.

What are Chakras?

Chakra is a sanscrit word that means "wheel". Chakras are located along our spine and collect life force energy also called "prana". The flow of this life force energy varies, person to person, day to day, and situation to situation. Often, our energy flow from our chakras can be blocked or out of balance.  Our state of holistic health (mental, physical, emotional, spiritual etc.) can be directly associated to how open our chakras are and in turn, how easily our life force is able to flow in balance.

Why can our chakras be out of balance? 

Each chakra is connected to certain...

  • body parts
  • nerve bundles
  • emotions
  • spiritual states
  • mental states
  • physical states 

In order for us to maintain holistic health, it is important for us to maintain balance and proper energy flow throughout each chakra. We can maintain proper flow by first learning about the charkas. After understanding the 7 chakras, we will then be able to do chakra check ups to determine which chakras need extra love and attention to regain proper flow.

Chakra review...


Chakra 1: Root Chakra, also called the Muladhara. Located at the base of the spine (L5-S5). Organs included are the bladder and colon. This is chakra of basic need- This chakra is red in color. 

Chakra 2: Sacral Chakra, also called the Svadhisthana. Located above the pubic bone and below the belly button (T9-L4). Organs included are the sex organs and adrenals. This is the chakra of creativity and relationships.  This chakra is orange in color.

Chakra 3: Solar Plexus Chakra, also called the Manipura. Located between the belly button and the heart  (T5-T9). Organs included are the entire digestive tract and gall bladder. This is the chakra of personal power and self expression. This chakra is yellow in color.

The first three chakras are considered the "lower chakras" associated to the physical presence.

Chakra 4: Heart Chakra, also called the Anahata. Located at your heart center (T1-T5). This is the connecting chakra between the lower (physical) and upper (spiritual) chakras. This is the chakra of compassion, empathy, relationships and forgiveness. This chakra is green in color.

The next three chakras are considered the "higher chakras" associated to spiritual presence.

Chakra 5: Throat Chakra, also called the Vishuddha. Located at your throat (C3-C7). Organs included are the throat along with the thyroid, upper GI (jaw, mouth and tongue), neck, upper lungs and arms. This is the chakra all about speaking the truth, personal expression and communication. This chakra is blue in color. 

Chakra 6: Third Eye Chakra, also called the Ajna. Located at your forehead (C1-C2). Organs included are the thyroid, lower brain, left eye, nervous system, head, nose, ears, and head. This is the chakra of intuition. This chakra is purple in color.

Chakra 7: Crown Chakra, also called the Sahaswara or "thousand petal lotus". Located at the crown of your head. Organs included are the pituitary gland, right eye, brain, top of head and cerebral cortex. This is the chakra of higher power and connecting to spirit. This chakra glows in color like the sun.

Stay tuned for more in depth reviews on the chakras along with the mantras, gem stones, sounds, etc. that go along with them!

Now that you have your basic chakra review...